Home > R.I.P. > ‘The A-Team’ writer-producer Stephen J. Cannell died, he was 69

‘The A-Team’ writer-producer Stephen J. Cannell died, he was 69

Writer-producer Stephen J. Cannell died on Thursday night of complications associated with melanoma.  He was 69.

Cannell was the writer-producer for shows such as “The A-Team,” “The Commish” and “The Rockford Files.”

“People say, ‘How can the guy who did “Wiseguy” do “The A-Team”?’ I don’t know,” said Cannell in an interview with The Associated Press in 1993. “But I do know it’s easier to think of me simply as the guy who wrote ‘The A-Team.’ So they do.”

“I never thought of myself as being a brilliant writer, and still don’t,” he said in the AP interview. “I’m a populist. With ‘Rockford,’ we were never trying to be important. And as thoroughly hated as it was by critics, I loved ‘The A-Team.’ I thought it was really cool.”

Cannel is survived by wife Marcia, three children and three grandchildren.

Categories: R.I.P.

Leave a Reply

